CJSM Secure Email System

The Northern Ireland Courts and Tribunals Service (NICTS) takes all reasonable steps to protect the security of the information which it processes and has policies in place to afford protection of the data in line with the sensitivity of the data.

Most of the data which we process has a protective marking of ‘Restricted’ which means, for example, that we cannot send or receive such data unencrypted over the internet. This rules out using standard internet email as a transmission method.

The CJSM secure email system

However, a secure email system which encrypts the emails automatically is available to legal practitioners which allows for data up to 'Restricted' to be sent and received. It's called CJSM and it is free to use. In order to join this system, legal practitioners need to be sponsored by a government body and the NICTS has agreed to act as sponsor for Northern Ireland based solicitors and barristers.

How to make an application to join CJSM

The application can be made online here

You can apply online providing the details for your existing email address, the name of someone who will act as administrator, and the NICTS sponsor details:

Leslie Millar
Business Manager
Central Business Unit
Northern Ireland Courts and Tribunals Service
4th Floor Laganside House
23 - 27 Oxford Street

Telephone: 028 7130 4758
Email: Leslie.Millar@courtsni.gsi.gov.uk

CJSM will contact NICTS to confirm your application is appropriate and will provide you with a copy of the terms and conditions of use which need to be signed by an appropriate authority in your organisation and returned to CJSM. Once this has been completed, your administrator will have a defined CJSM email address. They can then proceed to setup any additional CJSM email address required for the legal practitioners in the firm.

How to use CJSM secure email

CJSM is a closed system in that it will only allow email communications with other CJSM email addresses. A typical CJSM secure email address might have the format john.smith@joebloggssolcitors.cjsm.net. Using this email address, the solicitor will only be able to email other CJSM users. For example Antrim Courthouse has a CJSM email address of antrimcourthouse@courtsni.gsi.gov.uk.cjsm.net. Note that both email addresses end in '.cjsm.net'. A list of NICTS CJSM email addresses can be found below.

NICTS CJSM Email Addresses

  • Antrim Courthouse antrimcourthouse@courtsni.gsi.gov.uk.cjsm.net
  • Armagh Courthouse armaghcourthouse@courtsni.gsi.gov.uk.cjsm.net
  • Ballymena Courthouse ballymenacourthouse@courtsni.gsi.gov.uk.cjsm.net
  • Banbridge Courthouse banbridgecourthouse@courtsni.gsi.gov.uk.cjsm.net
  • Belfast Family Care Centre belfastfamilycarecentre@courtsni.gsi.gov.uk.cjsm.net
  • Belfast Family & Domestic Proceedings Office belfastfamily&domestic@courtsni.gsi.gov.uk.cjsm.net
  • Civil Processing Centre civilprocessingcentre@courtsni.gsi.gov.uk.cjsm.net
  • Coleraine Courthouse colerainecourthouse@courtsni.gsi.gov.uk.cjsm.net
  • Craigavon Courthouse craigavoncourthouse@courtsni.gsi.gov.uk.cjsm.net
  • Customer Service Centre customerservicecentre@courtsni.gsi.gov.uk.cjsm.net
  • Downpatrick Courthouse downpatrickcourthouse@courtsni.gsi.gov.uk.cjsm.net
  • Dungannon Courthouse dungannoncourthouse@courtsni.gsi.gov.uk.cjsm.net
  • Enniskillen Courthouse enniskillencourthouse@courtsni.gsi.gov.uk.cjsm.net
  • Laganside Courthouse (Magistrates Court) belfastmagistratescourt@courtsni.gsi.gov.uk.cjsm.net
  • Laganside Courthouse (County Court) belfastcountycourt@courtsni.gsi.gov.uk.cjsm.net
  • Laganside Courthouse (Crown Court) belfastcrowncourt@courtsni.gsi.gov.uk.cjsm.net
  • Limavady Courthouse limavadycourthouse@courtsni.gsi.gov.uk.cjsm.net
  • Lisburn Courthouse lisburncourthouse@courtsni.gsi.gov.uk.cjsm.net
  • Londonderry Courthouse londonderrycourthouse@courtsni.gsi.gov.uk.cjsm.net
  • Magherafelt Courthouse magherafeltcourthouse@courtsni.gsi.gov.uk.cjsm.net
  • Newry Courthouse newrycourthouse@courtsni.gsi.gov.uk.cjsm.net
  • Newtownards Courthouse newtownardscourthouse@courtsni.gsi.gov.uk.cjsm.net
  • Omagh Courthouse omaghcourthouse@courtsni.gsi.gov.uk.cjsm.net
  • RCJ - Bankruptcy & Chancery Office chanceryoffice@courtsni.gsi.gov.uk.cjsm.net
  • RCJ - Central Office centraloffice@courtsni.gsi.gov.uk.cjsm.net
  • RCJ - Office of Care & Protection (Patients) officeofcare&protection@courtsni.gsi.gov.uk.cjsm.net
  • RCJ - Office of Care & Protection (Children) rcjchildrenoffice@courtsni.gsi.gov.uk.cjsm.net
  • RCJ - Official Solicitor officialsolicitorsoffice@courtsni.gsi.gov.uk.cjsm.net
  • RCJ - Probate Office probate@courtsni.gsi.gov.uk.cjsm.net
  • RCJ - Matrimonial Office matrimonial@courtsni.gsi.gov.uk.cjsm.net
  • Strabane Courthouse strabanecourthouse@courtsni.gsi.gov.uk.cjsm.net

Please note that the NICTS also has non-CJSM secure email addresses for use by other Government Departments. These email addresses do not end in '.cjsm.net' and therefore cannot be used by CJSM users. 

Back to top