Terms extended for Chair and Board Member of Police Rehabilitation and Retraining Trust

Date published: 29 January 2024

The Department of Justice has extended the appointments of the Chairperson and a current Board Member of the Police Rehabilitation and Retraining Trust (PRRT) until 20 September 2026.

graphic - doj news

Michele Larmour was first appointed as Chairperson on 16 May 2019 and Bernie McCrory as a Board Member on the same date.

Richard Pengelly CB, Permanent Secretary at the Department of Justice said: “I am grateful to these members for committing to a further period of service and thank everyone on the Board for their continued work and dedication to the Police Rehabilitation and Retraining Trust.”

The Chairperson position attracts a fixed remuneration of £10,000 per annum for approximately 24 days per annum.  This is normally two days per month which includes attendance at a minimum of seven Board meetings per year. The Board Member position attracts a fixed remuneration of £5,000 per annum for approximately 12 days per annum. 


Notes to editors: 

1.  The PRRT is an Executive Non-Departmental Public Body (NDPB) of the Department of Justice.

2.  The PRRT Board consists of seven members: a Chairperson and three board members, plus three statutory appointees, representing the Police Federation of Northern Ireland (PFNI) and the Chief Constable of PSNI. The Board is responsible for the control and strategic direction of PRRT. Remuneration for the Chair is £10,000 per annum and for board members it is £5,000 per annum, with the exception of the statutory nominees who are not remunerated.

3.  The procedure for these appointments is compliant with the Commissioner for Public Appointments Northern Ireland (CPANI) Code of Practice. The appointments are made by the Department of Justice taking account of its statutory duty under the PRRT Regulations (Northern Ireland) 2014.

4.  More information on the PRRT including biographies of each of the board members can be found on the PRRT website.

5.  All media enquiries should be directed Press Office via EMAIL

Share this page

Back to top