Three new Royal Ulster Constabulary George Cross (RUC GC) Foundation Trustees appointed

Date published: 08 January 2019

The Department of Justice has appointed Sandra Best, June Butler and Shane Quinn as new Trustees of the RUC GC Foundation. They have been appointed following an open competition regulated by the Commissioner for Public Appointments Northern Ireland and will take up office on 14 January 2019 for a term of five years.

Mr May, Permanent Secretary for the Department of Justice said: “I would like to congratulate Shane, June and Sandra on their appointment. I wish them every success for their term of office in the Foundation."

Mr May added: “I wish to place on record my thanks to the former Trustees of the Foundation, for their personal commitment and the significant contribution they have made to the work of the Foundation over the last five years."

Notes to editors: 

1. The Royal Ulster Constabulary George Cross Foundation is an Arm’s Length Body of the Department of Justice; it commenced work in December 2001.  The Foundation has a number of statutory functions including marking the sacrifices and honouring the achievements of the Royal Ulster Constabulary GC, supporting the professional development of serving police officers and responsibility for the RUC GC Memorial Garden.

2. The Foundation comprises a Chair and a Board of five Trustees all of whom are appointed by the Department of Justice.  Two of the Trustees are nominated by the Chief Constable of the Police Service of Northern Ireland and the Chair of the Northern Ireland Policing Board, subject to the approval of the Department.

3. The procedure for the appointment of Trustee is compliant with the Commissioner for Public Appointments Northern Ireland (CPANI) Code of Practice. The appointments are made by the Department of Justice taking account of its statutory duty under the RUC GC Regulations 2002.

4. The tenure for the Trustees will commence on 14 January 2019.

5. The post does not attract remuneration.

6. The appointment of Trustee is made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process. However, the Commissioner for Public Appointments for Northern Ireland requires the political activity of appointees to be published.

7.Pen Pictures                                                                                                      

Sandra Best - Sandra retired in 2010 from her position as a civilian staff member in the PSNI. She is currently the Treasurer of the PSNI Ladies Choir, and has held the position for four years. She has been a voluntary gardener for the RUC GC Foundation since 2003, a voluntary guide in the Memorial Garden for the RUC GC Foundation for the past eight years, and has undertaken some research for the RUC GC Oral History Project. Political Activity: None. Public Appointments: None

June Butler - June was the Assistant Chief Electoral Officer for Northern Ireland from 2001-2009 where she gained extensive experience in matters of governance. Subsequently, she became the Diocesan Secretary of two Church of Ireland Dioceses from 2009-2017, and acted as their chief executive as well as secretary to both Diocesan Synods. June was recently elected as the All Ireland President and a Worldwide Trustee of the Anglican charity Mothers’ Union.  Political Activity: None. Public Appointments: None

Shane Quinn - Shane has been the Development Manager of Belfast Buildings Trust since October 2006, and was appointed as the Trust’s company Secretary in June 2017. The Trust is a charity which works to secure the sustainable reuse of Belfast’s historic buildings. In October 2016 Shane set up a new organisation, Successful Belfast, of which he is Chairperson. Successful Belfast is a partnership between Belfast Buildings Trust and the Ulster University.  Between 2014 and 2016 Shane was Production and Project Manager for ‘Long Story short: The Belfast Opera’, which was a successful cross community civic event. Political Activity: None; Public Appointments: None

8. All media enquiries should be directed to the Department of Justice Press Office 028 9052 6444.  Out of office hours please contact the duty press officer via pager number 028 9037 8110 and your call will be returned.

Share this page

Back to top