New Appointments to the Independent Monitoring Board

Date published: 22 April 2022

The Department of Justice has announced the appointment of eight new members to the Independent Monitoring Board (IMB).

news graphic

They are: Andrew Bell, Chris Henderson, Mike Mawhinney, Norman McKinley, Lekan Ojo-okiji Abasi, Bryan Snoddy, Arlene Sproule and Marie Thompson.

The new members, all volunteers, took up the role on 1 April 2022 for a term of three years.

In addition, 11 serving IMB members have been appointed for a further three year term and five serving IMB members have had their current term extended for another year.

As volunteers, Independent Monitoring Board members undertake an important and challenging role, which contributes to the welfare of those in custody.

Notes to editors: 

1. The IMB is an independent statutory body whose role is to monitor the treatment of prisoners and the conditions of their imprisonment in Northern Ireland’s prisons.  The statutory role of the IMB is set out in full in Part 16 of the Prison and Young Offenders Centre Rules (Northern Ireland) 1995.

2.  There are three Boards, one for each of the prison establishments in Northern Ireland: Hydebank Wood College and Ash House Women’s Prison; Maghaberry; and Magilligan.

3.   IMB Members are volunteers and do not receive remuneration for time spent on IMB business.  Reasonable travel and subsistence is payable at Northern Ireland Civil Service rates.

4.  Members are appointed for a three year term from 1 April 2022 until 31 March 2025. In addition, five members, who were due to leave the IMB on 31 March 2022 have had their existing term extended until 31 March 2023.

5. The appointments were made on merit and, to ensure that the process is transparent and in line with the Code of Practice for Ministerial Public Appointments in Northern Ireland, the appointment process followed the principles and practices contained in the Commissioner’s code.

6. The following existing members have been appointed for another three year term: Yvonne Adair, Aubrey Domer, Karen Crawford, John Denvir, Ian Hackney, Pip Jaffa, Tom Logue, Margaret McCrory, Wesley Mitchell, Michael O’Hara and Tanya Quinn.

7. The following existing members have had their current term extended until 31 March 2023: Ann Adams, Diane Mackey, Anne Rowe, Lynn Nevin and Patsy McGonagle.

8.  All media enquiries should be directed to the Department of Justice Press Office via email.  Out of office hours please contact the duty press officer via pager number 028 90378110 and your call will be returned.

Share this page

Back to top