Ford appoints new Independent Monitoring Board Members

Date published: 11 March 2016

Justice Minister David Ford has today announced the appointment of 15 new Independent Monitoring Board (IMB) Members.

They are:
• Yvonne Adair
• John Denvir
• Ian Hackney
• Deena Haydon
• Eithne McAnespy
• Margaret McCrory
• Jane McGeary
• Mary McMahon
• Harry Montgomery
• Kathleen Murdock
• Clare Patton
• Tanya Quinn
• Christopher Ralph
• Graeme Rice
• Colm Walsh

The new members, all volunteers, have been appointed following an open competition and will take up office on 1 April 2016.

The Minister also announced the reappointment of 17 serving members for a further term.

David Ford said: “I welcome the appointment of the new Independent Monitoring Board members. As volunteers they undertake a worthwhile but challenging role in Maghaberry and Magilligan prisons and Hydebank Wood College in Northern Ireland.

“I also welcome back those members of the current board who are being reappointed for a further term and thank them for their continued support.

“I would also like to record my sincere thanks to those members of the Board who are standing down, having completed their term of office.”

Notes to editors: 

1. The Independent Monitoring Board (IMB) is an executive non-departmental public body (NDPB) established year terms of office under Section 10 of the Prison Act (Northern Ireland) 1953. Each of Northern Ireland’s three prisons, Maghaberry and Magilligan Prisons and Hydebank Wood College, is supported by an Independent Monitoring Board (IMB).

2. The IMB members are volunteers and are paid only reasonable expenses. Their role is to observe all aspects of prison life, and ensure fairness and accountability in prison.

3. The appointments were made on merit, and to ensure that the process is transparent and in line with the Code of Practice for Ministerial Public Appointments in Northern Ireland, the appointment process followed the principles and practices contained in the Commissioner’s code.

4. Reappointed members are:
· Ann Adams
· Stella Burnside
· Paul Devlin
· Brian Doherty
· Andrew Heyes
· Phillip Lees
· Gary Lyons
· Diane Mackey
· Margaret McCauley
· Bernie McCollum
· Valerie McConnell
· Patsy McGonagle
· Lynn Nevin
· Hazel Patton
· Anne Rowe
· Clive Smyth
· Christine Stoll

5. All media enquiries should be directed to the Department of Justice Press Office on 028 9052 6444. Out of office hours please contact the duty press officer via pager number 0769 971 5440 and your call will be returned.

Share this page

Back to top