DoJ Departmental Governance

Departmental Board

The Permanent Secretary is directly accountable to the Minister for the Department's performance. He is supported in discharging the day-to-day responsibilities by a Management Board, which comprises:



Permanent Secretary

Richard Pengelly 

Director Justice Delivery

Deborah Brown

Director Access to Justice

Sean Holland

Director NI Courts and Tribunals Service

Glyn Capper

Director Safer Communities

Mark Goodfellow

Director Reducing Offending & Northern Ireland Prison Service

Beverley Wall

Independent Board Member

Colin Kennedy

Independent Board Member

Dr Joanne McDowell

Board Minutes

Minutes from Departmental Board Meetings can be view at DoJ Board Minutes

Register of board members interests

The Department maintains a Register of Board Members Interests which can be viewed at DoJ Board Register of Interests

Departmental Audit & Risk Committee

The Departments Audit & Risk Committee is chaired by Colin Kennedy, Independent Board Member. The Accounting Officer/Management Board has established an Audit and Risk Committee to support them in their responsibilities for issues of risk, control and governance by reviewing the comprehensiveness of assurances in meeting the Accounting Officer’s and Board’s Department’s assurance needs and reviewing the reliability and integrity of these assurances.


The members of the Audit Committee are:



Independent Board Member

Brigitte Worth

Independent Board Member

Andrew Scott

Vice Chair

Joanne McDowell


Colin Kennedy

Annual Reports and Accounts

The Departments Annual Reports and Accounts can be viewed at  Annual Report and Accounts

Departmental Corporate and Business Plan


The Departments Corporate and Business Plans can be viewed at Departmental Business Plans

Back to top